Shire of Denmark

Charter



LOCAL EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

This charter document defines the membership, authority, purpose, operational guidelines, responsibilities and resources of the Shire of Denmark Local Emergency Management Committee, established by Council pursuant to Section 38 (1) of the Emergency Management Act 2005.

1.0 NAME

The name of the Committee shall be the Shire of Denmark Local Emergency Management Committee (LEMC) hereinafter referred to in its abbreviated form as the Committee.

2.0 ESTABLISHMENT

The Committee is established pursuant to Section 38(1) of the Emergency Management Act 2005.

3.0 DISTRICT

The Committee shall operate within the local government boundaries of the Shire of Denmark.

4.0 GUIDING PRINCIPLES

This committee is established with the guiding principles in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995, the Emergency Management Act 2005 and the State Emergency Management Policy No. 2.5.

5.0 VISION

For the Shire of Denmark's residents, ratepayers and businesses to be adequately protected, risks are minimised and recovery operations coordinated swiftly and efficiently.

6.0 TERMS OF REFERENCE

In accordance with section 39 of the Emergency Management Act 2005.

- 6.1 To advise and assist the local government in ensuring that local emergency management arrangements are established for its district; and
- 6.2 To liaise with public authorities and other persons in the development, review and testing of local emergency management arrangements; and
- 6.3 To carry out other emergency management activities as directed by the State Emergency Management Committee (SEMC) or prescribed by the Emergency Management Act or Regulations.

6.4 Prepare an annual report on Committee activities for submission to the District Emergency Management Committee.

7.0 MEMBERSHIP

That in accord with section 38 (3) (a) of the Emergency Management Act 2005, Council appoint the following members:

POSITION	ORGANISATION
Voting Members	
Shire President / Chairperson	Shire of Denmark
Councillor	Shire of Denmark
Manager Community Services	Shire of Denmark
Officer in Charge	Denmark Police Service
Officer in Charge	Walpole Police Service
Chief Bush Fire Control Officer	Bushfire Advisory Committee
Director of Nursing	Denmark District Hospital
Centre Manager	Walpole Silver Chain
Unit Manager	<u> </u>
Unit Manager	Walpole State Emergency Service
Officer in Charge	
Officer in Charge	Walpole St John Ambulance
Commander	
Commander	
Commander	-
Captain	Denmark Fire & Rescue Service
District Operations Officer	Dept. of Biodiversity, Conservation & Attractions
	(Parks and Wildlife Service)
District Officer	Dept. of Communities
	, , , ,
President	Denmark Surf Life Saving Club

Each position holder is entitled to nominate a Deputy Delegate from their organisation for any individual meeting.

Representation is valid for two years until the next Ordinary Local Government Election Day or until the person resigns or the Committee is disbanded, whichever happens first. Nothing prevents a previous member re-nominating.

8.0 MEETINGS

8.1 Annual General Meeting:

Nil.

8.2 Committee Meetings:

Meetings shall be held at least four times per year or more often as determined by the Committee and shall follow the minimum procedures as set out in State Emergency Management Procedures (Appendix 1).

8.3 Quorum:

The quorum for any meeting of the Local Emergency Management Committee is at least 50% of the number of member positions prescribed on the Committee, whether vacant or not.

8.4 Voting:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.21 with all members of the Committee entitled and required to vote (subject to financial and proximity interest provisions of the LGA).

8.5 Minutes:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.22.

8.6 Chair

In accordance with the State Emergency Management Procedures the Chair should be an elected member.

The Chair of the Committee is appointed by the Local Government pursuant to Section 38(3) (a) of the Emergency Management Act 2005. Where Council has failed to nominate a Chair, the default Chair will be the current serving Shire President of the Council.

8.6 Deputy Chair

In accordance with the State Emergency Management Procedures the Deputy Chair should be the Local Emergency Coordinator. The Local Emergency Coordinator is the Officer in Charge within the Shire of Denmark local government district for the Western Australian Police (WAPOL).

8.7 Who acts if no Chairperson?

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.14.

8.8 Meetings

Meetings are not open to the public pursuant to Section 5.23 of the Act as the Committee has no delegated power or duty.

8.9 Public Question Time

Nil.

8.10 Members Conduct

Members of the Committee are bound by the:

- provisions of Section 5.65 of the Local Government Act 1995 (Councillors only);
- Shire of Denmark Standing Orders Local Law 2000;
- Shire of Denmark's Code of Conduct for Council Members, Committee Members and Candidates; and
- Shire of Denmark's Code of Conduct for Employees, Volunteers, Trainees and Contractors;

with respect to their conduct and duty of disclosure of financial, proximity or impartiality interests, as each relates.

8.11 Executive Officer

The Community Emergency Services Coordinator will fulfil the role of Executive Officer who will be responsible for:

- Coordinating the development and submission of committee documented in accordance with legislative and policy requirements including an Annual Report, Annual Business Plan and maintenance of Local Emergency Management Arrangements.
- Provide advice to the Chair and the Committee as required.
- Facilitate communication between the Committee and the Executive Officer of the relevant District Emergency Management Committee.

8.12 Standing Ex-Officio Members

The Committee is authorised to co-opt standing ex-officio members not listed under the general membership as non-voting members.

8.13 Meeting Attendance Fees

Nil.

9.0 DELEGATED AUTHORITY OF THE COMMITTEE

Nil.

Adopted by Council 21 November 2023 / Resolution No. 161123 Amended by Council 26 November 2024 / Resolution No. 191124